Community Board 2019 (generalised)


Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International

You may use this work for commercial purposes.

You must attribute the creator in your own works.

01 May 2019

This dataset was last updated on Stats NZ Geographic Data Service on 01 May 2019.

This dataset is the definitive set of community board/local board boundaries for 2019 as defined by the territorial authorities and/or Local Government Commission, and maintained by Stats NZ. This version contains 108 community boards and 21 Auckland local boards, excluding area outside community board. Community boards are set up under the Local Government Act 2002 and Local Electoral Act 2001. Their purpose is to administer the affairs of communities with populations not less than 1,500 within rural, urban, or metropolitan districts of a territorial authority. A community board’s functions, powers, and duties are delegated at the discretion of its parent territorial authority and these may differ between community boards. Community boards and their boundaries are reviewed in the year before the three-yearly local government elections. Community boards are numbered based on their corresponding territorial authority. Each community board has a unique five-digit number. The first three digits refer to the territorial authority that the community board lies within. The following two digits are sequential, and represent the number of community boards within the territorial authority. For example, Tararua District (041) has two community boards numbered 04101 and 04102. The rest of the district is not represented by a community board and is coded 04199 (Area Outside Community).Some territorial authorities do not have community boards and, if they do, the community boards do not necessarily cover the whole territorial authority area.The following table lists the total number of community boards by year:Year Community board totals 2000 147 2001 147 2002 147 2003 147 2004 147 2005 144 2006 v1 144 2006 v2 144 2007 144 2008 143 2009 143 2010 143 2011 137 2012 137 2013 137 2014 130 2015 130 2016 130 2017 129 2018 129 2019 129 Local boards also fall within the community board classification. Local boards were introduced as part of the new local government arrangements for Auckland in 2010. Local boards share governance with a council’s governing body and each has complementary responsibilities, guaranteed by legislation. Local boards can propose bylaws and they gather community views on local and regional matters. Local legislation enacted in 2012 allows for the establishment of local boards in areas of new unitary authorities that are predominantly urban and have a population of more than 400,000. The boundaries of local boards cannot be abolished or changed except through a reorganisation process. There are 21 local boards in the Auckland Council.Digital boundary data became freely available on 1 July 2007.

Layer ID 98744
Data type Vector multipolygon
Feature count 187
Services Vector Query API, Web Feature Service (WFS), Catalog Service (CS-W), Atom Feed