Regional Council 2014 (clipped)


Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International

You may use this work for commercial purposes.

You must attribute the creator in your own works.

28 Jul 2021

This dataset was first added to Stats NZ Geographic Data Service on 28 Jul 2021.

This dataset is the definitive set of regional council boundaries for 2014 as defined by the Local Government Commission and/or regional councils themselves but maintained by Statistics New Zealand (the custodian).

The regional council is the top tier of local government in New Zealand. There are 16 regional councils in New Zealand (defined by Part 1 of Schedule 2 of the Local Government Act 2002).

Regional councils are responsible for the administration of many environmental and transport matters such as land transport planning and harbour navigation and safety. Regional councils are defined at meshblock and area unit level.

As at 1st July 2007, Digital Boundary data became freely available.

This generalised version has been simplified for rapid drawing and is designed for thematic or web mapping purposes.

Layer ID 105761
Data type Vector multipolygon
Feature count 17
Services Vector Query API, Web Feature Service (WFS), Catalog Service (CS-W), Atom Feed