Regional Council 2012 (generalised)


Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International

You may use this work for commercial purposes.

You must attribute the creator in your own works.

27 Jul 2021

This dataset was first added to Stats NZ Geographic Data Service on 27 Jul 2021.

This dataset is the definitive set of regional council boundaries for 2012 as defined by the Local Government Commission and/or the territorial authorities themselves but maintained by Statistics New Zealand (who are the custodian).

The region is the top tier of local government in New Zealand. There are 16 regions of New Zealand (Part 1 of Schedule 2 of the Local Government Act 2002). Regional council areas are based on water catchment areas. Regional councils are responsible for the administration of many environmental and public transport matters.

As at 1st July 2007, Digital Boundary data became freely available.

Layer ID 105751
Data type Vector multipolygon
Feature count 17
Services Vector Query API, Web Feature Service (WFS), Catalog Service (CS-W), Atom Feed