Territorial Authority Local Board 2021 (generalised)


Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International

You may use this work for commercial purposes.

You must attribute the creator in your own works.

01 Dec 2020

This dataset was first added to Stats NZ Geographic Data Service on 01 Dec 2020.

This dataset is derived from the definitive versions of the annually released local boards for Auckland and territorial authorities for the rest of New Zealand, as defined by the territorial authorities and/or Local Government Commission and maintained by Stats NZ (the custodian). This version contains 21 local boards in the Auckland Council and 66 territorial authority boundaries for the rest New Zealand.

For statistical outputs that use territorial authorities to aggregate and report data Auckland Council is treated as a single geographic entity. This can hide meaningful patterns and trends for a significant portion of the population. A solution was to create a new classification of territorial authorities that includes the local boards for Auckland. The Auckland Council was established in 2010 under the Local Government (Tamaki Makaurau Reorganisation) Act 2009. Seven territorial authorities within the Auckland Region were abolished and replaced by the unitary authority Auckland Council. Local boards fall within the community board classification.

Names are provided with and without tohutō/macrons. The name field without macrons is suffixed ‘ascii’.

This generalised version has been simplified for rapid drawing and is designed for thematic or web mapping purposes.

Digital boundary data became freely available on 1 July 2007.

Layer ID 105135
Data type Vector multipolygon
Feature count 88
Services Vector Query API, Web Feature Service (WFS), Catalog Service (CS-W), data.govt.nz Atom Feed