Māori Ward 2023 Provisional


Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International

You may use this work for commercial purposes.

You must attribute the creator in your own works.

23 Jun 2022

This dataset was first added to Stats NZ Geographic Data Service on 23 Jun 2022.

This dataset is the provisional 2023 dataset for Māori ward. The final 2023 layer is scheduled to be published on 8 December 2022 as part of the annual boundary release.

The intention of providing this provisional dataset is to make available the boundaries that will be used for the local body elections being held in October 2022.

This dataset is the provisional set of Māori ward boundaries for 2023 as defined by the territorial authorities and/or Local Government Commission but maintained by Stats NZ (the custodian). This version contains 34 Māori wards (excluding Area Outside Māori Ward). 33 new Māori wards have been added to the provisional 2023 classification.

The Local Electoral Act 2001 provides that Māori wards may be established in territorial authorities.

Māori wards are numbered based on their corresponding territorial authority. Each Māori ward has a unique five-digit code. The first three digits represent the territorial authority that the Māori ward lies within. The following two digits are sequential and represent the number of Māori wards within a territorial authority.

Māori ward boundaries are defined at meshblock level. In the provisional 2023 classification 29 territorial authorities have Māori wards.

Names are provided with and without tohutō/macrons. Note: Waikato District uses a double vowel instead of a macron (Maaori) and Tararua District does not use a macron (Maori). The name field without macrons is suffixed ‘ascii’.

Layer ID 109167
Data type Vector multipolygon
Feature count 73
Primary key MWARD2023_PROV
Services Vector Query API, Web Feature Service (WFS), Catalog Service (CS-W), data.govt.nz Atom Feed