Subdivision 2023 (generalised)


Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International

You may use this work for commercial purposes.

You must attribute the creator in your own works.

30 Nov 2022

This dataset was first added to Stats NZ Geographic Data Service on 30 Nov 2022.

This dataset is the definitive version of the annually released (territorial authority) subdivision boundaries as at 1 January 2023 as defined by the territorial authorities and Local Government Commission and maintained by Stats NZ. This version contains 81 subdivisions, excluding area outside subdivision.

Subdivisions are set up under the Local Government Act 2002 and Local Electoral Act 2001. They are provided to ensure fair geographical representation on a community or local board. A subdivision is a division of a community or local board area for electoral purposes. As such, they nest within community or local boards. Subdivision boundaries are reviewed in the year before the three-yearly local government elections.

A number of territorial authorities do not have subdivisions, and if they do, the subdivisions do not necessarily cover the whole territorial authority area. Where a community or local board is divided into subdivisions all of the community or local board area must be included in a subdivision.

There was a large increase in the number of subdivisions between 2010 and 2011. This was due to the creation of the Auckland Council to replace Auckland Regional Council and seven territorial authorities in 2010. Twenty-one local boards were established, a number of which contain subdivisions.

Subdivisions are defined at meshblock level, and do not coincide with the statistical area 1 (SA1) or statistical area 2 (SA2) geographies.


Subdivisions are numbered based on their corresponding territorial authority. Each subdivision has a unique five-digit number. The first three digits refer to the territorial authority that the subdivision lies within. The following two digits are sequential and represent the number of subdivisions within the territorial authority. For example, Waipa District (017) has four subdivisions numbered 01701, 01702, 01703 and 01704. The rest of the district is not represented by a subdivision and is coded 01799 (Area Outside Subdivision).

Generalised version

This generalised version has been simplified for rapid drawing and is designed for thematic or web mapping purposes.


Names are provided with and without tohutō/macrons. The column name for those without macrons is suffixed ‘ascii’.

Digital data

Digital boundary data became freely available on 1 July 2007.

To download geographic classifications in table formats such as CSV please use Ariā


Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International

You may use this work for commercial purposes.

You must attribute the creator in your own works.

Technical Details
Layer ID 111186
Data type Vector multipolygon
Feature count 147
Attributes TASUB2023_V1_00, TASUB2023_V1_00_NAME, TASUB2023_V1_00_NAME_ASCII, LAND_AREA_SQ_KM, AREA_SQ_KM, Shape_Length
Services Vector Query API, Web Feature Service (WFS), Catalog Service (CS-W), Atom Feed
Added 30 Nov 2022
Revisions 1 - Browse all revisions
Current revision Imported on Nov. 30, 2022 from Geodatabase in NZGD2000 / New Zealand Transverse Mercator 2000. 1 geometry modified to be OGC compliant. Changelog.


Copy and paste the following code to embed this layer as a single map in your blog or website: