Functional Urban Area 2023 Clipped (generalised)


Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International

You may use this work for commercial purposes.

You must attribute the creator in your own works.

30 Nov 2022

This dataset was first added to Stats NZ Geographic Data Service on 30 Nov 2022.

2023 Functional Urban Area update

For the 2023 FUA, there have been minor updates from the 2018 FUAs to align with changes to urban rural (UR) boundaries and statistical area 1 (SA1) composition. FUA 2023 is still based on the analysis of 2018 Census of Population and Dwellings commuting data. The Wanaka urban area, whose population has grown to be more than 10,000 based on population estimates, has been reclassified to a medium urban area in the 2023 UR and a medium regional centre in the FUA type.


This dataset is the definitive version of the Functional Urban Area boundaries as at 1 January 2023, as defined by Stats NZ.

The functional urban area (FUA) classification identifies small urban areas and rural areas that are integrated with major, large, and medium urban areas to create FUAs. In 2023, there are 53 FUAs,excluding ‘land area outside functional urban area’ (9001) and ‘water area outside functional urban area’ (9002). The FUA classificationuses the urban rural (UR) geography to demarcate urban areas, and statistical area 1 areas(SA1s) to demarcate surrounding hinterland (the commuting zone) within FUAs, and rural and water areas outside FUAs.

FUAs represent a populated urban core/s and its commuting zone. Workplace address and usual residence address data from the 2018 Census of Population and Dwellings were used to identify satellite urban areas (1,000–4,999 residents), rural settlements and other rural SA1s from which at least 40 percent of workers commuted to urban areas with more than 5,000 residents.

FUA numbering and naming

The FUA classification identifies FUAs by the name of the most highly populated urban area it contains, for example, the Christchurch FUA includes the Christchurch urban core and Rangiora, Kaiapoi, and Rolleston secondary urban cores. There is one exception to the naming rule. The Paraparaumu-Waikanae-Paekakariki conurbation and surrounding hinterland is named Kapiti Coast.

The FUA classification has a two-level hierarchical structure, joined together to create each FUA code. Level 1 is classified by FUA type (TFUA) a one-digit code and level 2, which has three-digit codes numbered approximately north to south. Some examples are: 1001 Auckland, 2001 Whangārei, 3001 Cambridge, and 4001 Kaitāia.

FUA type (TFUA)

FUAs are further categorised by population size. The urban core’s population rather than the entire FUA’s population is used to maintain consistency between the descriptions of UR urban area and FUA type. The categories are, by code:

1 Metropolitan area – more than 100,000 residents living in the urban core,

2 Large regional centre – urban core population 30,000–99,999,

3 Medium regional centre – urban core population 10,000–29,999,

4 Small regional centre – urban core population 5,000–9,999, and,

9 Area outside functional urban area.

The Greymouth urban area population is less than 10,000 but is classified as a medium regional centre, consistent with its treatment as a medium urban area in the UA classification.

To differentiate from the UR classification, when referring to FUAs by name, their FUA type should also be mentioned, for example, Christchurch metropolitan area, Whangarei regional centre.

FUA indicator (IFUA)

The IFUA classifies UR2023 urban areas and rural SA1s according to their character within their FUA. The indicators, with their codes in brackets, are:

• urban area within functional urban area – urban core (101), secondary urban core (102), satellite urban area (103),

• rural area within functional urban area – hinterland (201),

• area outside functional urban area – land area outside functional urban area (901), water area outside functional urban area (902).

Further information on the urban rural indicator is available on the Stats NZ classification tool Ariā.

For more information please refer to the Statistical standard for geographic areas 2023.

Clipped version

This clipped version has been created for cartographic purposes and so does not fully represent the official full extent boundaries.


Names are provided with and without tohutō/macrons. The column name for those without macrons is suffixed ‘ascii’.

Digital data

Digital boundary data became freely available on 1 July 2007.

To download geographic classifications in table formats such as CSV please use Ariā


Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International

You may use this work for commercial purposes.

You must attribute the creator in your own works.

Technical Details
Layer ID 111200
Data type Vector multipolygon
Feature count 138
Attributes FUA2023_V1_00, FUA2023_V1_00_NAME, FUA2023_V1_00_NAME_ASCII, IFUA2023_V1_00, IFUA2023_V1_00_NAME, TFUA2023_V1_00, TFUA2023_V1_00_NAME, LAND_AREA_SQ_KM, AREA_SQ_KM, Shape_Length
Services Vector Query API, Web Feature Service (WFS), Catalog Service (CS-W), Atom Feed
Added 30 Nov 2022
Revisions 2 - Browse all revisions
Current revision Imported on Nov. 30, 2022 from Geodatabase in NZGD2000 / New Zealand Transverse Mercator 2000. 1 geometry modified to be OGC compliant. Changelog.


Copy and paste the following code to embed this layer as a single map in your blog or website: