Subdivision 2019 (generalised)


Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International

You may use this work for commercial purposes.

You must attribute the creator in your own works.

05 May 2019

This dataset was last updated on Stats NZ Geographic Data Service on 05 May 2019.

This dataset is the definitive set of the annually released territorial authority subdivision boundaries at 1 January 2019 as defined by the territorial authorities and/or Local Government Commission, and maintained by Stats NZ. Subdivisions are set up under the Local Government Act 2002 and Local Electoral Act 2001. A subdivision is a division of a community or local board area for electoral purposes. Subdivisions are defined at meshblock and nest within community or local boards.

Digital boundary data became freely available on 1 July 2007. This generalised version has been simplified for rapid drawing and is designed for thematic or web mapping purposes.

For further information see ANZLIC Metadata 2019 Subdivision attachment below.

Layer ID 98757
Data type Vector multipolygon
Feature count 139
Services Vector Query API, Web Feature Service (WFS), Catalog Service (CS-W), Atom Feed