District Health Board 2015


Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International

You may use this work for commercial purposes.

You must attribute the creator in your own works.

17 Aug 2017

This dataset was first added to Stats NZ Geographic Data Service on 17 Aug 2017.

District health board (DHB) boundaries are defined by the Ministry of Health and are defined at meshblock level using the Stats NZ meshblock geography. They commenced on 1 January 2001 but ceased to exist on 30 June 2022.

From 1 July 2022, Te Whatu Ora/Health New Zealand (www.tewhatuora.govt.nz/) has taken over responsibility for planning and commissioning hospital, primary and community health services.

District Health Boards are responsible for providing or buying Government funded health care services for the population of a specific geographical area. District Health Boards have existed since 1 January 2001. The amalgamation of Otago and Southland into the Southern District Health Board in 2010 reduced the number of District Health Boards from 21 to 20 (excluding 'Area outside District Health Board')

District Health Boards are defined at meshblock level.

Changes to District Health Boards:

Otago and Southland amalgamated to form the Southern District Health Board in 2010.

Chatham Islands Territory meshblocks transferred from Hawke's Bay District Health Board to Canterbury District Health Board in 2015.


Layer ID 87883
Data type Vector multipolygon
Feature count 22
Services Vector Query API, Web Feature Service (WFS), Catalog Service (CS-W), data.govt.nz Atom Feed