Meshblock with Regional Tourism Organisation Areas 2022


Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International

You may use this work for commercial purposes.

You must attribute the creator in your own works.

04 Aug 2022

This dataset was first added to Stats NZ Geographic Data Service on 04 Aug 2022.

Regional tourism organisation boundaries are meshblock based and are created by dissolving groupings of ward and territorial authority areas. This version of regional tourism organisation boundaries is displayed at meshblock level (meshblock 2022) and extends to the 12 mile limit. It is concorded to the annual ward 2022 and territorial authority 2022 geographies. Regional tourism organisations are responsible for the promotion of their regions to prospective domestic and international visitors.

RTO label represents the trading name of the organisation responsible for a region’s tourism marketing and/or economic development.

Note: Not all 37 categories representing regional tourism organisation areas are currently operating as regional tourism organisations at the time of publishing. Those areas not operating as regional tourism organisations are: Kawerau (06), Rangitīkei (14), Tararua (16), Horowhenua (18) and Waimate (28).

Fiordland includes Fiordland National Park, Manapouri, Te Anau, and Te Anau Downs areas with the rest of the area assigned to Southland. Where a regional tourism organisation area boundary crossed a meshblock the meshblock was assigned to whichever regional tourism organisation area the majority of the meshblock fell within.

Names are provided with and without tohutō/macrons. The name field without macrons is suffixed ‘ascii’.

Layer ID 109937
Data type Vector multipolygon
Feature count 56982 (incl. 16 with empty or null geometries)
Services Vector Query API, Web Feature Service (WFS), Catalog Service (CS-W), Atom Feed