Territorial Authority 2021 Clipped (generalised)


Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International

You may use this work for commercial purposes.

You must attribute the creator in your own works.

06 Dec 2020

This dataset was first added to Stats NZ Geographic Data Service on 06 Dec 2020.

This dataset is the definitive set of annually released territorial authority boundaries for 2021 as defined the territorial authorities and/or Local Government Commission and maintained by Stats NZ (the custodian). This clipped version has been created for map creation/cartographic purposes and so does not fully represent the official full extent boundaries. This version contains 68 categories.

A territorial authority is defined under the Local Government Act 2002 as a city or a district council. There are 67 territorial authorities in New Zealand. Some territorial authority boundaries are coterminous with regional council boundaries but there are several exceptions. An example is Taupo District, which is split between four regions, although most of its area falls within the Waikato Region. Territorial authorities are defined at meshblock, statistical area 1 (SA1) and statistical area 2 (SA2) levels.

Names are provided with and without tohutō/macrons. The name field without macrons is suffixed ‘ascii’.

This generalised version has been simplified for rapid drawing and is designed for thematic or web mapping purposes.

Digital boundary data became freely available on 1 July 2007.

Layer ID 105154
Data type Vector multipolygon
Feature count 68
Services Vector Query API, Web Feature Service (WFS), Catalog Service (CS-W), data.govt.nz Atom Feed
Results 21 to 21 of 21